East Devon Youth Cricket League seeking new chairman

PUBLISHED: 12:39 16 October 2018

A view from a cricket scorebox

A view from a cricket scorebox


Exeter teams dominated prizegiving at the Bradleys East Devon Youth League awards evening, writes Conrad Sutcliffe.

But Ottery St Mary denied Exeter a clean sweep in all three divisions by lifting the under-13 title.

Sides from the County Ground won the under-14 and under-15 divisions. At under-13 level, Ottery St Mary pipped Budleigh Salterton by a point for the title.

The top three run-getters in the under-15 division were Sandford’s Jem Fawsett (168), Eddie Rudolph of Ottery (150) and Exeter’s Alex Holifield (149). Pick of the wicket takers were Ottery pair Matt Jeacock (9) and Lawrence Walker (8), followed jointly by Topsham SJ’s Jerin Tojy (7) and Heathcoat’s Nathan White (7).

Principal run scorers at under-14 level were Sandford Tom Hatton (165), his clubmate Sammy Broomhead (106) and Holifield (97). The stand-out bowler with six wickets at 5.50 each was Max Mayor (Ottery).

At under-13 level, the batting honours went to Heathcoat’s Josh Withey (115), Fin Hill of Exeter CC (100) and Budleigh’s Fin Cotton (94). Ottery bowlers Lewis Morgan, Will Crick and Soreen Hall filled three of top five bowing slots in the division.

Exeter picked up all the league cups, except one. Under-13 was the one and only level where Exeter failed to win the divisional cup. Exeter did reach the final, but were 45-run losers to Heathcoat.

In the other cup finals, all sponsored by Devon County Sports, Exeter under-11s defeated Sandford by 59 runs, the under-12s saw off Heathcoat by nine wickets, the under-14s were six-wicket victors over Ottery and the under-15s beat Heathcoat by eight wickets.

The league, founded in 1991, has around 100 teams from 24 clubs all over East Devon in its ranks. Since 2011 the chairman has been Robert Bradshaw-Smith, but not for much longer.

Bradshaw-Smith, whose club tie is with Ottery St Mary, will be standing down at the annual meeting next month, which means the search is on for a replacement.

“All the officer posts are in place for next season as Sheila will carry on as results secretary, Ian Jeacock will do fixtures, Fred Harding will deal with disputes and Charlie Dibble is still treasurer,” said Bradshaw-Smith.

“Before the annual meeting I will have written a new job description for chairman, which will be put out there to see who is interested.”


Welcome , please leave your message below.

Optional - JPG files only
Optional - MP3 files only
Optional - 3GP, AVI, MOV, MPG or WMV files

Please log in to leave a comment and share your views with other East Devon 24 visitors.

We enable people to post comments with the aim of encouraging open debate.

Only people who register and sign up to our terms and conditions can post comments. These terms and conditions explain our house rules and legal guidelines.

Comments are not edited by East Devon 24 staff prior to publication but may be automatically filtered.

If you have a complaint about a comment please contact us by clicking on the Report This Comment button next to the comment.

Not a member yet?

Register to create your own unique East Devon 24 account for free.

Signing up is free, quick and easy and offers you the chance to add comments, personalise the site with local information picked just for you, and more.

Sign up now

Other Sport Stories

Yesterday, 16:00

Barnstaple playing chief Jeremy Chugg intends keeping his promotion war chest padlocked until the New Year.

Read more
Yesterday, 15:00

Bideford coach Simon Morrell says his relegation-threatened team has to become a bit more ‘ruthless’ if it is going to clamber out of trouble.

Read more
Yesterday, 14:37

Ottery St Mary Under-13s moved up to fourth in Division One of the Exeter and District Youth League with an impressive 5-1 home victory over Crediton.

Read more
Yesterday, 14:14

Cranbrook returned from their Macron League Division Three game at Sidmouth Town thirds with a point after drawing 2-2.

Read more
Yesterday, 14:00

South Molton stepped up the pace in the second half to beat visiting Lanner 24-10.

Read more
Yesterday, 13:00

Park United are top of the North Devon Premier after cruising to victory over Torrington on Saturday.

Read more
Yesterday, 12:59

Chard ladies were beaten 69-0 when they visited Minehead, writes David Webb.

Read more
Yesterday, 12:39

Torridgeside made it seven league wins in a row on Saturday to earn three more points in the South West Peninsula League East Division.

Read more
Yesterday, 12:28

Honiton Town suffered a last minute defeat when beaten 2-1 by Newton Abbot Spurs at Mountbatten Park.

Read more
Yesterday, 12:23

Upottery Reserves were involved in the Macron League Division Five ‘Match of the Day’ when they travelled to play the team that started the day sitting immediately behind them in the table, Devon Yeoman.

Read more

Local Weather



max temp: 7°C

min temp: 2°C

Most Read Sport

Place a family notice

Family Notices 24

Newsletter Sign Up

East Devon 24 regular newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Show Job Lists

FFind planning applications