Here’s our weekly chat about all things Sidmouth Cricket Club with Chairman Fionn Wardrop.

Sidmouth 2nds duly recorded their 10th straight C Division East win when they breezed to a nine wicket win over Whimple at the Fortfield.

Ottery St Mary went down by six wickets when they entertained E Division East table-topping Sampford Peverell and Tiverton.

Sidmouth 1st XI sit one point behind Tolchards Devon Cricket League Premier Division leaders Heathcoat after 10 of the 18 match days have been played, wtrit4ee Stephen Birley.

Sidmouth 3rd XI were in no mood to hang about on their visit to Clyst Hydon 2nds for an F Division East game.

Seaton recorded a wonderful two wicket win at Filleigh, a result which means that Ben Morgan and his men are now ‘very much’ involved in the thick of the promotion race.

Sunday’s Servicemaster Clean Devon T20 finals day at Budleigh Salterton has been called off to avoid a clash with the football World Cup final, writes Conrad Sutcliffe.

Batting first, Uplyme and Lyme Regis close don an imposing 266-9 after 45 overs. It was opening bowlers Bertie Creer and Andrew Donovan who shared the six wickets that Clyst St George managed to snap up. Donovan claimed four of them at a cost of 47 runs from a full nine overs while Creer sent down eight overs and finished with figures of 2-52.

Upottery were five wicket winners over North Devon to move 26 points clear of the three drop spots in D Division East.

Exmouth lost for the fourth time in 10 Tolchards Devon League Premier Division outings as they went down by 29 runs to a Heathcoat side that has now taken over at the top of the table.

Tipton made the journey to Torbay with temperatures in the mid 80’s to play Marldon when it may have made more sense to go to the beach, writes Phil Wright.

Feniton went down by 69 runs in their C Division East meeting with Alphington in a game that saw two major contributions from players who are leading lights in South West football.

Woodbury and Newton St Cyres went down by six wickets on their visit to Honiton for their latest Tolchards Devon League E Division East game.

Kilmington kept up their pursuit of C Division East leaders, all-conquering Sidmouth II, thanks to an emphatic 10-wicket win over Braunton.

South African Aviwe Mgijima was the star act as Sidmouth secured a two wicket win over Exmouth at the Fortfield.

The Devon Cricket League have taken the unprecedented step of offering member clubs the chance to play their league matches this Saturday and take in the World Cup quarter-final between England and Sweden (3pm).

Seaton won a thrilling match at home to Cullompton thanks to a catch held at long-on off the first delivery of the final over to seal a three run success for Ben Morgan and his team, writes Steve Birley.

Budleigh Salterton sit fifth at the halfway point in the Tolchards Devon Cricket League A Division season.

Devon are on the way to the Unicorns Trophy final next month after scraping past Suffolk on wickets lost in a tied semi-final at Sidmouth, writes Conrad Sutcliffe.

Whimple are up to fourth in the C Division East table after an excellent six wicket win at home to Ottery 2nds.

Exmouth were edged out in the narrowest of fashions, going down to a two wicket defeat at Sidmouth with the home side getting over the finishing line with just three deliveries of the contest remaining and very much thanks to an unbeaten century from their overseas player, Aviwe Mgijima.

Budleigh 2nds suffered a second successive afternoon of struggle in the field on their way to an eighth defeat in nine C Division East matches, beaten by a margin of 181 runs in their Ottermouth meeting with Kilmington.

Upottery put three successive defeats well and truly behind them as they recorded a superb six wicket win over Heathcoat 2nds.

Clyst St George suffered a seventh defeat of the D Division East season and, with the Tolchards Devon League having reached the halfway stage of the campaign, the Bohea Field remain in the bottom three.

Feniton skipper Jon Pyle was taken plenty of positives from his sides 85-run home defeat at the hands of all-conquering Sidmouth 2nds.

Local Weather



max temp: 22°C

min temp: 11°C

Most read

Place a family notice

Family Notices 24

Newsletter Sign Up

East Devon 24 regular newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy


Show Job Lists

Local business directory

Devon's trusted business finder

FFind planning applications